When teleportation is finally possible, where will you beam yourself first?

This is today’s topic on dailypost.wordpress. I myself think it is really an ingenious idea of wordpress to encourage, or at least inspire bloggers to write their own blogs. There are often many reasons that prevent me from spending a decent time for writing something. The first one is that I am often not in the mood for writing anything. Whenever I start writing something, there will be some other interesting things that make me distracted. The second reason is that I can not find the inspiration from the topics assigned. More terribly, when I have the mood for writing, I may be called by my parents to do something.

Come back to today’s topic: “When teleportation is finally possible, where will you beam yourself first?”

At first, it takes me a while to find out what teleportation means. In Vietnamese, it is also difficult to find the adequate word for translation. I have to use wikipedia to understand about this term, and as a Chinese learner, I use Chinese dictionary to look up the equivalent word in this language. “Teleporation” in Chinese is “yuan ju chuan wu” (远距传物)- in Vietnamese, it may be translated to be “viễn cự truyền vật”.  Accordingly, I can have some vague idea about this term – It is the transfer of matter in far away distance and it often appears in many science fiction movies. The existence of Teleportation has long fueled many debates among scientists. I myself do not have much idea concerning this issue, however, assume that its existence is no longer in doubt, it eventually turns out to be realistic, thanks to the development of  sciences. It is now just the matter of the place where I will choose to beam myself first.

It doesn’t take me a lot of time to have the answer. Ukraine, certainly. I was born in Ukraine and came back to Vietnam when I was just a 3-year-old girl. 3 year is not a long time, especially to a child, however, I still remember something about this beautiful land, the apartment that my family lived in at that time. I have the habit of looking at the old photos taken in Ukraine and imagined the wonderful time that I have passed, though vague but it is real. Hardly can I imagine that I had had the chance to play with snow, jump in the path covered with yellow leaves, running in such gently rolling hills, on green meadows. I also like listening to the story told by my mother about this time. I can not remember how many times that she told these stories to me, cannot remember how many times I look at these old pictures, never have I felt bored.

How can you not succumb to temptation to have a chance to live here once in a life time?

The place where I was born

It is just the first place where I want to beam myself. If teleportation were feasible, I would like to go to many other places. After Ukraine, I want to go to China. Since I was a small girl, I have fallen in love with Chinese culture, Chinese film, and its melodic language. I want to visit Lijiang Old City in Guangxi, DaLi Old City in Yunnan, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, Jiangsu, Great Wall and Forbidden City in Beijing, the boisterous night life in Shanghai.

I also want to visit the UK, visit Old Trafford in Manchester, visit LOndon with Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, to attend in the royal wedding of Prince William, to go on a trip to Oxbridge, etc.

There are still a lot of places that I want to visit. You can say that I am a greedy girl, however, it is just the dream and dream costs nothing at all. However, it is much better to think up my own plan for these destinations, it is no use resorting to such kind of infeasible, and somehow ridiculous like teleportation. Graduate the university with flying colors, find a good job, and  make my dream come true.

Thái Hồ

Leave a Reply

