Some thoughts on Steve Jobs’s three stories!

Steve Jobs - one of the most visionary leaders!

“Steve Jobs”, ” Apple”, “Stay hungry, stay foolish” have been among the most searched keywords on Google and the other search engine yesterday and today. The image of Steve Jobs as well as many articles relating to his glamorous career have been put at the headline of many newspapers, or news coverage around the world. For some who are technophobia, it seems hard for them to imagine the loss that the world will suffer after the passing of one of the most creative and visionary leaders of our era. I am not a true fan of Steve Jobs, have not been intrigued much by any of his products such as Mac, iPad, iPhone, and sadly, I just have known much about Jobs just a few weeks ago, when I started to read The Economist, finding the article writing about Steve Jobs’s resignation from his position in Apple. 2 years ago, I heard about Jobs through a friend of mine. I tried searching about him on Google, however, found it not my cup of tea or maybe at that time I was still not mature enough to understand the meaning of the word ” innovation” or kind of “entrepreneurial spirit”. I tried to coerce myself into reading this piece of information on Wikipedia, however, as I did not find my love for this, it was no use reading.

2 years later, when I am currently 3rd year student, I have experienced much more what I was at my 1st year at the university. I have chances to know more about wonderful people around me and when I understand partly the term ” innovation”, “entrepreneurial spirit”, ‘ creativity”, I stated to appeciate the efforts that Steve Jobs expended on his career for all his lifetime. It is difficult to imagine his determination to pursue the creativity and inovation, becoming the pioneer of the technology world, revolutionizing the digital world.

I also spent my morning listening his commencement speech at Stanford University. His three stories, though simple, have brought us the most comprehensive description of his life.

The first story is connecting the dots. Just a story about his passion for calligraphy when he was a student at Reeds. This seems weird for a man to pursue this class as to almost everyone, calligraphy does not do much with your career and it would be just a waste of time. I am sure that Jobs knew this, but more importantly, he knew how to overcome this barrier to do what he really loved. And who can tell, 10 years later, the calligraphy lessons contributed to the invention of beautiful typography on personal computer as we are both familiar with today. Without time spent in this class, a well-designed document will become a far-reaching dream of the layman like anyone among us. The conclusion drawn here is really valuable: Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life. Though I can not say for exact what I want to be the future, I still believe that I will find out in the end by following my intuition, following what my heart says. I love calligraphy, love spending time learning foreign languages, love blogging about every thing in my life. 5 years later, these hobbies may turn out to be useful for my life when I try to look back with restropect.

The second story is about love and loss. Maybe it is still too difficult for me to experience such surmountable loss or failure as what Steve has experienced. Failure comes up in my life regularly as I suppose because almost every time I send out my CV, it will be denied, I am not sure but I even receive any confirmation of the recruiter. How sad it is but I still keep trying. Success is not how many times you reach your objectives but how you deal with failure, striving for success without losing your determination. For this lesson, it is much more relevant to quote Steve’s conclusion and left it to audience for thinking much more carefully: You’ve got to find what you love. And that is as true for your work as it is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle. It is love that leads us to happiness. Success, as I suppose, is just the matter of finding where our passion lies. Far and away the best prize that life offers is the chanceto work hard at work worth doing, observed Roosevelt. One more time, it is still the matter of love that is the determining factor of success. However, love is not enough but we  still need persistence for a sure-fire recipe for success.

His third story is about death. Death is the term that everybody wants to avoid. However, from the perspective of Steve, thinking about death is one of the leading reasons to explain for his relentless effort of changing the life. “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” It is the rule of living our own lives what I want to keep bearing in my mind. It is not the selfish lifestyle but the way of positive living. Just by living on our own passion does one can reach what he has set for his life. Going on the well-trodden path that the precedent generations have established is just contributing to the erosion of your own creativity. Think out of the box and challenge your limit! These above sayings are the ones that I tell myself in recent days.

It may take me more than 2 years to understand fully these simple stories. By the time, experiences will furnish me with chances looking at the lessons from the different point of view.  2 years later or 20 years later, I can get more than what I perceive today.

There is no more perfect conclusion than the famous farewell sentence of Steve Jons’s speech: Stay Hungry Stay Foolish! Foolish to challenge the set order of the world, and keep craving for changing, which both revolutionise our world and make it better place to live in.

Stay Hungry Stay Foolish!

Leave a Reply

