#24 Good habits improve our physical, emotional, and/or financial health. Select one of your good habits and write an essay persuading readers to make that habit a part of their lives.

Good habits improve our physical, emotional, and/or financial health. Select one of your good habits and write an essay persuading readers to make that habit a part of their lives.

Here comes an old saying “Watch your words, for they become actions. Watch your actions, for they become habits. Watch your habits, for they become character. Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.” It is the importance of our daily activities to our life as a whole that is reflected in this famous saying.  Every of our actions, though small, is still able to exert significant impacts on our personality and furthermore, our destiny.

It seems to be a perplex process to reach the destiny from words. The saying can only reflect the reality to a certain extent. For words to become actions or for actions to turn into habits, it is essential that these practices must be made on a regular basis. Today, you may promise to yourself that you will spend at least 2 hours for self-studying; however, there exists nothing that can assure that your promise will become true. And even you keep repeating the words again and again without grim determination, there is nothing like magic to transform words into actions. When it comes to actions, it seems to be a little bit easier for you to get the habit. Repetitive actions on a regular basis will sooner or later form your own habits. When you are determined to get down on writing blog every day, it will become a habit and you will find it difficult to get out of this habit. When you have already appeared in the gym for more than 1 month, the feeling of discomfort will make it way in your body. Nonetheless, not all actions can become an absolute guarantee for the habit to be created. Just a few chilly days will result in the interruption in the habit of doing physical exercises every morning. You also find yourself procrastinating to write a new post on your blog just after some days being buried in a host of exams, presentations and papers, all of which come up at the same time. The process seems to be easier when it comes to higher level of this hierarchy. Habit, along with environment, background, is among the most determining factors of characteristics. Whether you are meticulous or negligent, confident or unconfident, self-righteous or responsive, it is the result of your habits. One person, who gets into the habit of fine-tuning even the dimmest errors in the document, will be a meticulous one, hardly accepting anything shambolic or disorganized, whereas the one who tries to interrupt rudely at everybody’s speech will become an aggressive and self-righteous person. According the final statement in the above-mentioned saying, character has the power of shaping our destiny. Habits, though enduring, are able to be broken; actions can also be disrupted without commitment to them, words are even easier to be forget, however, characters, once were formed, are extremely difficult to be eradicated. A specific strait, once runs in our vein, will be deeply ingrained and are not much prone to changes. Therefore, it comes as no surprise to me when seeing many titles of booksellers such as 7 habits of successful people, etc., which helps indicating the importance of habit to destiny of one person.

I seem to have digressed from the main requirement of the prompt, which is to probe in detail one of my good habits leading to improvement in my health, from both aspects, namely, physicality, emotion, and financial condition. To be honest, I do not have many good habits and even I have one, it is easily eroded by the time. I used to be sleep before 11p.m in the evening and get up early in the morning; however, this good habit cannot last for long due to my heavy workload at school, inducing me to stay up late at night. As a result of long time lacking of tight sleeping, I fall asleep in almost every lesson at class, which in turn reduces my ability to concentrate and gain knowledge at school.  However, I find myself the one who can redress balance very well and if I am determined to go to bed early for some days, I soon make my way back to this healthy habit. Spending a relevant amount of time on sleeping will help your body have time to refresh, your brain to be restorative, preventing your body from suffering from ageing process. Adequate time of sleeping will make you more conscious and sensible in making decision, performing better at school and at work and poised to take actions if necessary, which both contributes to your academic and career success.

The similar effect can be witnessed when I keep writing posts in English on a weekly basis. Due to insufficient time, I cannot stick to my promise of writing blog every day, however, being ready to note every idea churning out in my mind helps me improve my English writing, ameliorating my ability of writing and expressing ideas assertively. My thinking process is also uplifted a lot and I feel exorbitantly satisfied after my works being completed. Satisfaction gained from works having been done makes me believe in my possibility of making my dream come true.


Leave a Reply

