One-year blogging!

This day 1 year ago marked an important event in my life. My first blog has been established. Blogs are supposed to be replaced by Facebook’s notes, which are better at capturing the attention from other people to you. Blogs, however, have a lot of advantages in comparison with Facebook’s notes. Blog brings me a feeling of privacy. Only people caring me will find it, and have enough patience to read all these long stuff. Blog also brings a lot of unknown friends coming and sharing the ideas. It is blog where I can express all of my own personalities.

My first purpose of creating a blog was to improve my writing in English and Chinese. Though I haven’t felt much progress made in my writing, to some extent, I was satisfied with what I have done, and what I have gain. Writing helps accelerating thinking process. In addition, it helps me express all the ideas concealed in my mind. In stead of screwing my head with all the ideas, I write it all on my blog and free my mind. My mind, when it is freed from pressure caused by a lot of disorganized ideas, has more space for doing another important thing. Blog, therefore, has the same function as my old diary. Writing diary everyday was my habit when I was a 15-year-old girl, however, I have abandoned this habit for about 4 years until I started my blog on WordPress. Unlike my old diary, which is kept in secret, blog allowed me to express my ideas to many people. It is not a hustle-bustle as Facebook, but it is still useful when you want to share your own world with friends. At first, I wonder why blog does not have as much interaction as Facebook does. It took me a long time until now to know that lack of interaction is something that makes WordPress attractive. Once you in your own blog, you are not distracted by the other things as it is on Facebook.

Many thanks should go to Mr Pham Tuan Long for his amazing blog, which is my source of inspiration. I also want to express my gratitude to other interesting blogs, helping me realize the joy of writing and sharing. WordPress now really becomes my sweet home. Checking side stats, freshly pressed posts has long been my habit. Though I have not made substantial progress in my writing, I think that I have seen some positive changes in my mind and my attitude.

There comes the brief report of my blog in 2011 made by WordPress.

1.  The most read posts

#1: Many people believe that television violence has a negative effect on society because it promotes violence. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your response. More stats 517
Reflections on Global Leadership Activating Day organized by AIESEC! More stats 161
10 Inspirational Quotes for Language Learners More stats 107
Film reflection – 3 idiots More stats 68
#9 All-girl schools have been gaining popularity in recent years because of the belief that girls learn better when they aren’t competing with or intimidated by boys, who statistically get more attention in the classroom. Do you think single-sex schools are a good idea? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position. More stats 67
#31 The singer and songwriter Bob Dylan once wrote, “A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night and in between does what he wants to do.” Do you agree with this definition of success? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position. More stats 62
Topic 4: It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? More stats 44

As you can see, among 6 top posts, posts relating to TOEFL have dominated. The post of television impacts is the most read in 2011. This topic is always the favorite one given by many teachers all around the world, therefore, it is not difficult to understand why it gets the highest traffic this year. The third top post is the one I take from a website relating to linguistics. Since this article was reposted, I have avoided using the posts of others on my blog. The second top post underlies an interesting story. As you know, it was made on demand from one of my friends. I do think that she did not expect me to make a post in English to reflect the event. When I shared this post on Facebook, my blog immediately got high traffic, which took me with surprise, happiness, and a little bit scare. I scare of hurting my friends in AIESEC by giving such comments about their event. However, my friend welcomed it and she even shared it to the other members of AIESEC. And according to her, I have been comparatively famous among her organization. Should I be happy with this? =)) So I can say, every post, though popular or not, has its own story entailed. Every time when I read what I have written, many memories come across my mind, which brings me with high level of satisfaction.

2. The most used keywords

The phrases such as ” many people believe that television violence has a negative effect on society”, ” 3 idiots”, ” quote for language learners”, “success”, etc. often lead people to my blog. The post about the movie “3 idiots” has just been written a few days ago but it has attracted a lot of visitors to my own land.

3. Where did the visitors come from?

According to the report, my guests mostly come from Vietnam. Coming next in the table is the UK, and the USA. Some places such as Guam, Nigeria, Lybia, Mexico really make me surprised.

4. The one commenting a lot on my blog

The first place comes to the awe-inspired Pham Tuan Long. The second place was taken by one of my friends at the university. She and I have known each other long time ago but we just have conversations for a few times. She also found out my blog accidentally and when she knew the blogger was me, she was also amazed. I do not know the third and the fifth place. The fourth, however, is the one I know very clearly. Chu Duc Anh, one of my classmates. He is also a subscriber to my blog just because after reading my post “Knowledge exchange”, he found out that he was  mentioned in that post. What a weird boy =)). I don’t know what will happen to me after I publish this post. Maybe my blog even gets shared on his Facebook, and it will get more traffic as he seems to be a ” popular figure” among the community” (ironic, though=)) ).

For more details, enjoy the report here.

In the year to come, I will try my best to improve the quality of my writing as well as add more values to the thoughts expressed here. Writing now has become one of my favorite activities and blogging really makes me feel myself more valuable.

Leave a Reply

