Working diary or “Happiness is a journey, not a destination.”

Happiness is the journey, not the destination.

One more Friday has passed and I have finished my first 2 weeks working as a temporary staff for IDG Vietnam. Everyday, I wake up at 6 am and turn up at work at 8:30, working until 11:30, then come to school to attend class from 12:15 to 17:30. Sometimes, I work for the whole day to make up for days I have to leave work early for school. Everyday, I have to go by motorbike on this 30-kilometre route around Hanoi, coming back home and feeling myself totally worn out. My father often worries about this job would affect my health, my study at school. But I immediately reassure my father that I will not let the part-time job interfere with my study at school. On this long road from home to work, from work to school, thing that made me think hard is how to learn as much as possible from the job. I prefer to think it as an opportunity for me to immerse myself in the real workplace, discovering more about my ability, and having better orientation for my future career.

I am currently working as Content Development Executive, responsible for compiling marketing materials such as e-newsletter, agenda, etc. In addition, I am assigned to care for the content published on the blog of the event, which requires me to do a lot of researches on banking governance, technology application in banking services. Besides, I also do some translation works for the materials of the conference. My work is still a little bit simple, however, it is not easy to accomplish at all. It turns out to be difficult to get all tasks done in such a short time and time-management skill or organizational skill prove to be necessary in such cases. The more I work, the more I realize that what I have learnt at school or have read before seems to be too small. The more I work, the more I realize that I have to create more and more values for myself.

The company I am working for is located at 20 Tran Hung Dao Street. And you know what, McKinsey is located at 109 Tran Hung Dao Street. After work, I have a pleasure of going on the street covered with exuberant trees and having a quick look at the Capital Tower, where McKinsey is located. Recently, I read “McKinsey Way” and fall in love with the content of the book, which depicts the problem-solving process conducted by McKinsey-ites. Though I know it is very difficult for a local student to enter into McKinsey as a business analyst, I still keep my fingers crossed. Try my level best and see what happens in the end. One friend of mine, graduating from Singapore Management University, is about to work in McKinsey next month. She would be a great mine of information and inspiration. (Her profile is very stellar, however, I will try my best to emulate her success.)

One of my friends has received an offer from VISA Inc., and he will go to Hochiminh City this summer to join SEO-IIV. Yesterday, I also receive news relating to the last internship opportunities of SEO-IIV. From the bottom of my heart, I really want to have a chance to challenge myself in this sunshine land this summer.

Keep my fingers crossed. Hope spring eternal!

A song that could help reflect the chaos of thoughts existing in my mind:

Hurry up and wait
So close, but so far away
Everything that you’ve always dreamed of
Close enough for you to taste
But you just can’t touch

You wanna show the world, but no one knows your name yet
Wonder when and where and how you’re gonna make it
You know you can if you get the chance
In your face as the door keeps slamming
Now you’re feeling more and more frustrated
And you’re getting all kind of impatient waiting

[Chorus:]
We live and we learn to take
One step at a time
There’s no need to rush
It’s like learning to fly
Or falling in love
It’s gonna happen when it’s
Supposed to happen and we
Find the reasons why
One step at a time

You believe and you doubt
You’re confused, you got it all figured out
Everything that you always wished for
Could be yours, should be yours, would be yours
If they only knew

You wanna show the world, but no one knows your name yet
Wonder when and where and how you’re gonna make it
You know you can if you get the chance
In your face as the door keeps slamming
Now you’re feeling more and more frustrated
And you’re getting all kind of impatient waiting

[Chorus]

When you can’t wait any longer
But there’s no end in sight
when you need to find the strength
It’s your faith that makes you stronger
The only way you get there
Is one step at a time

[Chorus x2]

Today, on listening to my worry about the uncertainty of future, my friend said: Enjoy every step you take, sometime the happiness lies more in the steps you take rather than in the destination. It reminds me of a quotation:  “Happiness is a journey, not a destination; happiness is to be found along the way not at the end of the road, for then the journey is over and it’s too late. The time for happiness is today not tomorrow.” 

So just celebrate all along the way I have taken, is that right?

Leave a Reply

