About writing – On keeping myself inspired

My own hand-writing.  It seems that I am passionate about creating any thing in the form of writing, either hand writing or kind of typing.
My own hand-writing. It seems that I am passionate about creating any thing in the form of writing, either hand writing or kind of typing.

I have a strong passion for writing. It is an indisputable fact. It should be the most unarguable fact that I am sure about in my life. (Of course, it stands after my certainty about my love for my family. And it is right until now at least.)

I started writing in this blog from the beginning of 2011 due to my dissatisfaction with my writing skill at that time. I set up this blog to hone my writing skill by challenging myself with IELTS/TOEFL writing prompts at the first place. However, it has been such a long time since I posted a TOEFL essay on my blog.

But it doesn’t mean my writing career ended here. Fortunately, I found myself strongly interested in writing about everything in my life that keeps me inspired. I keep writing about a worth-watching movie or a recent student-run activity that I participated in, and even a failure of mine. I realized that writing is somehow like a good exercise for my mind.

But then I found out that if I keep writing about my failure or kind of these inspirations, my inspirations will run out for sure in the long term. When this blog got higher traffic, I just felt a pressure of renovating this blog by adding more insights into my own posts. I just want to write essays with sharp arguments, I want my blog to be not only have careful wording but also have insightful thoughts.

Sometimes, I feel a little bit embarrassed when some friends of mine said that I possessed a good English writing as I actually feel that I am not that flair in writing English. I am afraid of myself being confined to the already established set of vocabulary without any new brilliant ideas and my writing will be undermined in the near future. The same thing happens when I kept brushing up on my collection of marketing buzz-words while composing marketing materials. I know that if I kept doing this, I could reach the professional level of business English, however, I wonder if these buzz-words work in motivating customers to take action or it is just kind of ornamental or peripheral to the real products? I just asked if I have actually added value to things I work.

And I passed by a blog of a Vietnamese student in the US and was significantly impressed with his way of delivering his ideas and more importantly, what is concealed in his posts. And I feel like my mind being brightened up when seeing a comment of his on how to have a great piece of writing:

Question: One question: I really admire your writing. How could you exhibit such so wonderful writing? any tips you could share with me?

Answer: 

I’ve acquired such skills by looking at my laptop, not paying attention to my surroundings, and quitting Facebook.

lolzzzz that ain’t true.

(I did stop using Facebook though, so it’ll be a while before you can see me reciprocally “friend” you. I apologize without being apologetic about not using Facebook :D )

And the keep looking at the laptop part isn’t entirely untrue either. I think that the “how to write well” question so often misleadingly collapses the two more subtle questions: “How to deliver ideas?” and “How to have ideas?” The former is a quick fix, but won’t help much, unless you we already have something original to deliver. And that involves a lot of looking at your own laptop (if you take that as a metaphor for spending more time searching inward and less time blurting outward.)

Yet somehow voluble, high-profile folks are so often mistaken as “smart” and “quick”. What a pity. Take VABC meeting as an example that we can both directly relate to. If everyone thinks (that means silently – mind you people) before they offer their inchoate wisdom, wouldn’t every meeting be done in less than 1 hour? Wouldn’t people stop compensating for a lack of good-quality thought with high-quantity talk? And wouldn’t I have to retreat to my very own dear laptop?

Oops, I apologize for sidetracking. (That’s writing mistake 101 btw: do not care about about your audience’s interest.) What I was trying to suggest is that, in order to have ideas, we must think more inside, must pay more attention to details. To find the unexpected convergence of the disconnected. To seek the sudden illumination of the obscure. That, is to observe, and not merely to see, as Sherlock Holmes’ famously cautioned Watson (You see, but you do not observe.)

On the former question “How to deliver my ideas?” – I promise you a more thorough response some time soon. I am still waiting for a relevant video from the VAC people :D

I hope it helps a little :D Being lectured to is the deepest aversion of mine, so I refrain from doing so as much as I can, and I am deeply greatly apologetic if anyone ever feels like being lectured by me.

Cheers.

Source: http://anhqle.wordpress.com/about/

In fact, I cannot understand his writing for sometimes but I do feel agreed with this part about writing: What I was trying to suggest is that, in order to have ideas, we must think more inside, must pay more attention to details. To find the unexpected convergence of the disconnected. To seek the sudden illumination of the obscure. That, is to observe, and not merely to see, as Sherlock Holmes’ famously cautioned Watson (You see, but you do not observe.)

It seems like it is still a long way for me to gain such gorgeous writing skills as him and it is even lots of things to do if I want to turn sudden incidences in my life into interesting findings and turn these findings into worth-reading or worth-enjoying piece of writing.

It is still a long way, but I am still quite sure about my passion for writing, for turning ideas into words that inspire…

2 thoughts on “About writing – On keeping myself inspired

  1. I increasingly realize the role of writing skill in real life as well as my passion in writing. meant writing skill in English and Vietnamese ( I occasionally hope to improve in English writing skill because I am intending to take IELTS certificate at the end of this year).However I has found it difficult when I dont know where I should start my passion. to be honest. With poor resource of vocabularies, along with lacking of interesting Ideas of mine provoke me to meet a lot of difficulties to pursue my passion. I truly need some advices from you. Please help me.

    1. As I have said before, I have no clues about improving writing skill as I still feel that my writing is not good enough. However, you may start by practicing your writing everyday (writing a short status about your feeling, have a short note on some events in your life), force yourself to employ new words you have learnt. (I remember reading somewhere that you will remember one new word by using it at least 6 times or more). Read more and more English articles to improve your vocabulary, use English dictionaries such as Oxford for Advanced Learners, Oxford Thesaurus or Collocation. If you don’t know what to write about, start with the TOEFL or IELTS writing prompts, force yourself to generate ideas for these topics. There is no short-cut for a good writing but keep practicing. In addition, if you ask me about interesting ideas for generating a piece of writing, I just think that it is all about your life and the people you meet and you talk with. Participate more actively in life activities, observe more to find interesting points hidden somewhere, and talk with much more people to exchange the ideas. Good luck with your IELTS.

Leave a Reply

