True and fair

autumn7.jpg

True -and-fair view principle is a frequently used word that you may happen to see in many accounting text books or financial column in the business journals, which is referred to the effort of financial statement in representing financial performance of the companies faithfully in compliance with the commonly applied principles but leaving some rooms for flexible assessment based on the comparison with other similar cases as well. Literally, this idea is not defined exactly in accounting textbook but it is generally accepted as one of the backbones underpinning the way we treat financial stuff.

I do think this principle is the one that I have long employed to understand almost everything in my life, almost everyone coming across my life and every event taking place since the day I was born. “True” represents my tendency to be fact-driven while “fair” means that I always put things in comprehensive perspective to avoid bias in decision-making process.

People love being appreciated, I also love appreciated. However, I love being appreciated, not over-appreciated. I love everything put in order, to put in its real value. I feel encouraged if people assess what I have performed in a right manner and I feel annoyed if people over-appreciated or under-appreciated them.

I hate dining out when a friend of mine tried paying fully for this lunch and the lunch was extremely expensive. I hate being treated by this way as I don’t think it is necessary for him/her to do it that way, especially when I think that the relationship between us does not necessitate such kind of treatment. It just made the circumstances worsen when I thought that I owed to someone when I do not the one who makes such borrowings. This person may argue that such amount of money is not a significant amount to him/her but if he/she thought it that way, I am disappointed that he/she may have underestimated the balance necessitated for a steady friendship.

I hate people making impulsive judgement without putting things under such “true and fair” view principle. Whenever talking about someone with their success, many people I happen to know often say something like” He/She is so lucky” without thoroughly reflecting the determinants leading to this one’s success, which includes their efforts to reach such success (“the fact”) and making a comparison with the people coming from the same circumstances.

However, does it seem like I try complicating thing in an unnecessary manner?

Leave a Reply

