Funny coincidences

Sense_and_Sensibility_by_dop12

Funny coincidences occurred to me while reading Sense and Sensibility of Jane Austen :))
– “Certainly not; but if you observe, people always live for ever when there is any annuity to be paid them; ….. An annuity is a very serious business; it comes over and over every year, and there is no getting rid of it. You are not aware of what you are doing. I have known a great deal of the trouble of annuities; … Twice every year, these annuities were to be paid; and then there was the trouble of getting it to them; … It has given me such an abhorrence of annuities, that I am sure I would not pin myself down to the payment of one for all the world.” (Learn about annuity at the same time and wonder how people of 18th century were so good at finance :)))
– “The setting always casts a different shade on it.” (Go by this sentence at the same day when the crowd got mad about white-gold vs. black-blue)
And I feel highly amused at reading this part:”…idleness was pronounced on the whole to be the most advantageous and honourable, and a young man of eighteen is not in general so earnestly bent on being busy as to resist the solicitations of his friends to do nothing. I was therefore entered at Oxford and have been properly idle ever since…”

“… for to be unaffected was all that a pretty girl could want to make her mind as captivating as her person”, I think I may be listed among the most captivating ones in this world.

Sense and Sensibility was too good for a debut and I cannot help being captivated by the author’s good sense of humor and her attractive way of writing. Now it comes clearer to me that why some people may recite Jane Austen’s novels by heart.

Leave a Reply

