When you think Tim McGraw … I hope you think of me

Since I was a very young girl, I always have theme songs for every period of my life. It is not always necessarily my favorite song. It maybe an old English song replayed in the old radio of my father when I was 5 years old. The rhythm may come from my mother’s favorite songs, of which the order that the songs appeared has been deeply embedded in my mind for many years. The song may be the theme song from a popular movie broadcast on the television when I was at grade 9. I even remembered how I sang the song while riding the bicycle in the rain on way to school and thought myself the main character of the movie.

Then…there came the university life, the beautiful four-year period in the life that I always wish for a chance of coming back. Time at university should be the rare period of our lives when we can live in such blissful ignorance of what’s going on outside the campus, free to pursue what we love to do without giving much thoughts to any real-life boundary. I have told myself thousand times about how lucky I was to be accompanied by such great classmates during this beautiful 4-year period. We shared the same favorite singer and would love to sing along (shout along) all the famous songs of Taylor Swift. It was so lovely the day when we walked in the campus and sang “Love story”, our eyes were shining on listening that “You belong with me” broadcast on the school’s radio station and thought how it was cool to wear T-shirt and sneakers when it came to the part “she wears short skirt I wear T-shirt, she’s cheer captain and I’m in the bleechers”. We danced on the rhythm of “Our song” and felt that “Fifteen” should have been written for our time at university as “it’s your freshman year and you’re gonna be here/ For the next four years in this town/ Hoping one of those senior boys will wink at you and say/”You know, I haven’t seen you around before.” 
Two years after graduation and we always think much about these days whenever we had a reunion and any song of Taylor was turned in the coffee house, we simultaneously stop chitchatting and sing together as if there were no one around and we were still at our sophomore years.

We grow up and we may grow apart. We continue to go on our own way and one will have her own song but I am always certain that:

“When you think Tim McGraw
I hope you think my favorite song
The one we danced to all night long
The moon like a spotlight on the lake”

2 thoughts on “When you think Tim McGraw … I hope you think of me

Leave a Reply

